My poem from trip to Ireland: “The Rocks”

I’m becoming overwhelmed with the amount of stuff I could tell you about from my Ireland trip, so I’ll start with a poem about a specific moment. On the 15th of April, the last day on my trip, I did a tour from Galway up to Kylemore Abbey and back. I knew it’d be risky, taking a tour, as I’m the sort of person who loves to meander–not good for tight schedules! This poem is about the time I almost missed the bus at a brief stopover in Spiddal, on the West Coast of Ireland.

 

The Rocks

 

I had three minutes to get back to the coach,

and here I was, ten metres out to sea,

balancing on the rocks only just higher than the tide.

I needed to concentrate.

Already knowing my final goal,

now I had to think about two things:

Firstly, I had to glance few metres ahead,

to make sure I didn’t reach a dead end

of more ocean than rocks.

Next, I had to forget the coach and concentrate

on the rocks I was standing on.

Where should I position my foot?

Does the rock wobble?

How should I balance my weight?

 

Fortunately, there was also time to admire the heart shaped seaweeds,

dark green,

to feel them, bumpy yet squishy, like a thumb tac.

Also time to smell the salty fresh sea breeze,

to listen to the seagulls caw-caw,

and to the sea lapping against the rocks.

 

I got to the coach just in time.

‘I knew we were missing someone,’ driver said

as he closed the door behind me and drove off.

 

Leave a comment